Control more granular content access through page permissions.
Private versus Public Site Privacy in MindTouch
- Public: Anyone can find and see your MindTouch site, but you can optionally privatize sections, pages or paragraphs to control access. A public site has high online visibility. Search engines can find, index and list content.
- Private: Access is restricted to those with a login. A private site has no online visibility. Search engines cannot find, index or list content.
Configure your MindTouch site as a public site so that users can find your content via search engines.
Do not make your site public until you are ready to launch your site or search engines will index your content. You can also conditionalize content to restrict information access to certain users.
Configure your MindTouch site as a Public
- Navigate to Site tools > Control panel > Systems Settings > Configuration.
- Under Site Options, set the Make site private (users must sign in) checkbox to not be selected.
Configure your MindTouch site as private if you do not want search engines to index your content or users to find your content via online searches.
Configure MindTouch to be Private
- Navigate to Site tools > Control panel > System Settings > Configuration.
- Under Site Options, select the checkbox for Make site private (users must sign in).
User and business impact
- User access: Users do not have to log in; sections, pages, or paragraphs can be privatized to restrict public access
- Google access: Search engines (such as Google) can see site, index site, and list content of site
- Online visibility: Anyone performing a search can find public content through a Google search
- Marketing impact: Authoritative content is favored by Google and brand visibility is high; online product information is controlled by you; opportunity to attract new customers
- Sales impact: Prospective customers can find and access product information via Google search and validate or research product; opportunity to generate new qualified leads; readily available information speeds up sales
- Support impact: Users can find and access self-service help via Google; demands low effort from users; able to easily find answers users have no need to contact support
- User access: Users must log in; only logged in users can view content; all sections are private
- Google access: Search engines (such as Google) cannot see site, index site, or list content of site
- Online visibility: None
- Marketing impact: Brand does not have online visibility and so misses out on opportunities to build brand awareness; online product information is controlled by outside parties; no opportunity to attract new customers
- Sales impact: Prospective customers cannot find product information via Google search to validate or research product; no opportunity to generate new qualified leads
- Support impact: Users can only self-serve once logged in; demands high effort from users; unable to find answers, users will contact support
Site Privacy- Best Practice
Before setting your site to Public:
Confirm you’ve applied all the proper page and section level permissions settings.
Create a Community Member user.
Logout of your site and log back in as the newly created Community Member.
This will allow you to confirm all the page restrictions are setup properly, as the Community Member user will have the same access as an Anonymous user who visits your site when it is set to public.
Now that you have completed Part 4.1.1 - Site Privacy, jump to: