Skip to main content
MindTouch Success Center

Translation updates

When modifying either your source or localized site, keep in mind that some changes may be overwritten with future imports. This article contains scenarios that illustrate how site structure and content modifications may be affected by a future re-import of translated content. If you haven't already, please review our prescribed process for initial translation.
 

Initial translation and subsequent updates


Initially, your entire translated source site will be imported into your localized instance(s). Subsequent updates will require only partial exports and imports. To generate a partial site export, please contact MindTouch Support or your account manager.  
 

The partial export is bound by a beginning date and the date of the export. To minimize overlap and ensure that all necessary content is exported successfully, set the beginning date equal to the date of the prior translation export.

Maintaining your source site


Keep your localized site(s) in mind as you update your source structure and content. Only include content meant to be available across all localized sites.
 

How updates affect your translated sites


Refer to the scenarios below to understand how localized sites are affected by updates to your localized and source sites.

Scenario 1:  If you made content changes in your localized site

Modifications to localized pages WILL be overwritten with future imports.

Scenario 2:  If you made structure changes in your source site

Modifications to the source site structure (hierarchy) WILL overwrite the localized site structure with future imports.

Scenario 3:  If you made structure changes in your localized site

Modifications to the localized site structure (hierarchy) WILL be overwritten with future imports.

Scenario 4:  If you deleted pages from your localized site

Pages deleted from the localized site WILL remain deleted with future imports.

Scenario 5:  If you deleted pages from your source site

Pages deleted from the source site WILL NOT be deleted from the localized site with future imports.

Scenario 6:  If you added pages in your localized site

Pages manually added to the localized site WILL NOT be modified with future imports. 

Scenario 7:  If you added pages in your localized site and moved its parent in the source site

Pages manually added to the localized site WILL remain under their associated parent page with future imports, even if the parent page was moved in the source site.

  • Was this article helpful?