Skip to main content
MindTouch Success Center

Delete custom classifications

This page applies to:MindTouch (current)

Updating or deleting a custom classification in the control panel can cause harm to your MindTouch site if not done correctly. This article provides instructions for changing or removing custom classifications and properly updating residual data.
 

Terms to know


Custom classification A structured tag created by content managers to organize content in MindTouch.
Classification listing A classification list that contains several options by which to tag pages.
Classification option The options in the drop-down menu listed for your custom classification. Classification options consist of labels and tags.
Classification label The text you see when selecting a classification or option in the page settings. Changed labels do NOT have to be replaced. 
Classification tag The value by which MindTouch identifies the classification in the code. Changed tags HAVE to be replaced to avoid residual data. 

 

Why do I need to care take off residual data?


Leaving residual classification data can negatively impact features such as search, guide tabs or recommended articles. Custom classifications are structured tags that have a pre-defined set of values but still function as regular tags. Tags (and as such custom classifications) do not dynamically update in your site when changed or deleted. This has the following impact:

  • When you delete a custom classification in the control panel, you must delete that classification from each page it lives on.
  • When you modify an existing classification tag (not to be confused with its label), you must update each page the classification lives on.
     

Why would I delete or change a classification tag?


In most cases, modifying a classification tag is unnecessary, but there may be some case when you want to do so:

  • You are rebranding a product and want to keep labels and code matching to avoid future confusion for writers and developers.
  • You have misspelled your classification tag in a way that would be embarrassing if anyone looked at the code behind it.

No matter the motivation, following these instructions for changing your classification tags will ensure you cause no harm to your MindTouch site.

 

How to delete a custom classification


Follow the instructions below to properly remove an existing classification:

Step 1: Delete your custom classification in the control panel

  1. Navigate to Site tools > Control panel > System Settings > Classifications.
  2. Delete an individual classification by clicking the x in the classification's row or delete an entire list (remember the associated tags) by clicking the Delete list button.

Before deleting lists, record all associated classification options. You will need to know the names of the options when removing residual data (see below).

Step 2: Remove deleted classifications from your pages

To remove residual classifications from all your pages, replace the deleted classification with a new one:

  1. Navigate to Site tools > Dashboard > Content management > Page classification manager.
  2. In the Filters section, select the option you wish to change.

Screenshot of classification manager with a selected classification

  1. In the results table, select all pages (select the checkbox in the top row).

Screenshot of all pages being selected in the page classification manager.

  1. In the Change classification to section at the bottom of the page, select the new classification option you want to apply.

Screenshot of the change classification section

  1. Click Apply changes.
  2. Confirm to apply changes, and no more residual data!
  3. (Optional) When deleting complete classification lists, repeat this process for each classification option in your list.
     

How to update a custom classification option


We recommend changing the classification label instead of the classification tag to avoid having to replace residual data on all pages!

Follow the instructions below to properly update an existing classification option.

Step 1: Update an option in the control panel

  1. Navigate to Site tools > Control panel > System Settings > Classifications.
  2. Find the list that contains the option you want to change.

Do not edit the existing option because it will no longer be applied on all pages that currently use it!

  1. Enter new Tag and Label values in the empty text fields at the bottom of the table.
  2.  Click Add Tag.

Screenshot of the classification input field in the control panel

You can come back and edit the new label after you have replaced the tag on your site.

Step 2: Update your pages

Follow the instructions below to update the classification option on all your pages.

  1. Navigate to Site tools > Dashboard > Content management > Page classification manager.
  2. In the Filters section, select the option you want to change.

Screenshot of classification manager with a selected classification

  1. In the results table, select all the pages (select the checkbox in the top row).

Screenshot of all pages being selected in the page classification manager.

  1. In the Change classification to section, select the new classification option you want to apply.

Screenshot of the change classification section

  1. Click Apply changes and confirm to update the pages.

Screenshot of the apply changes dialog on the page classification manager.

Step 3: Delete your old classification option

  1. Navigate back to Site tools > Control panel > System Settings > Classifications.
  2. Find the old classification option and delete it by clicking on the x in the far right column.

Screenshot of the controls used to delete a classification option

Step 4: Rename your new classification option

  1. Click the pencil icon in the new classification option's row.
  2. Rename the Label to its original name.
  3. Click Edit Tag.

Screenshot of edit classification screen

  1. You have now successfully updated your classification option across your site.
     

How to properly update a classification listing


Follow the instructions below to properly update an existing classification listing:

Step 1: Create a new custom classification listing

  1. Navigate to Site tools > Control panel > System Settings > Classifications.
  2. Find the classification listing you want to change.

Do not edit the existing classification or value because it will no longer be applied on all pages that currently use it.

 

  1. In the Add classification section, enter a Prefix and Label in the text fields and click Add Classification.

Screenshot of add classification section of control panel

You can come back and edit the label after you have replaced the listing on your site.

Step 2: Add your classification options

Create the same classification options as currently exist in the list to be updated:

  1. Enter new Tag and Label values in the empty text fields at the bottom of the table.
  2.  Click Add Tag.

Screenshot of two similar classifications

  1. Repeat for each option that exists in the list to be updated.

Step 3: Update your pages

  1. Navigate to Site tools > Dashboard > Content management > Page classification manager.
  2. In the Filters section, select the first option of the classification listing you want to change.

Screenshot of a selected option in a classification listing

  1. In the results table, select all the pages (select the checkbox in the top row).

Screenshot of all pages being selected in the page classification manager.
 

Screenshot of new classification option chosen.

  1. In the Change classification to section, select the classification you want to apply to all pages.
  2. Click Apply changes and confirm to update the pages.

Screenshot of the apply changes dialog on the page classification manager.

  1. Repeat these steps for every option in the old classification listing so you can map them to the new listing.

Step 4: Delete your old classification listing

  1. Navigate back to Site tools > Control panel > System Settings > Classifications.
  2. Find the old classification listing in the control panel.
  3. Click Delete list in the far right table row of the selected classification listing.

Screenshot of the delete list button for classifications in the control panel

  1. You have now successfully updated your classification listing and its options across your entire site.
     

What's next?


Learn about the importance of tagging your pages.

  • Was this article helpful?