Skip to main content
MindTouch Success Center

Activate and deactivate users

This page applies to:MindTouch (current)

Learn how to manage your site's users with the MindTouch control panel, including creating, deactivating and editing users. You may also want to review our documentation on understanding user types in MindTouch. This guide is most useful for Administrators and Site Owners.
 

Manage users


  1. Navigate to Site tools > Control panel.
  2. Select Users from the side panel.

  1. Manage your user base including adding users, deactivating users, adding users to groups and changing the user's user type. Narrow the displayed users by using the filters above the user table:
  • Status. By default, the status is set to Active, which shows only active users. Selecting the Inactive radio button,  you'll see all of the users that you've deactivated.
  • User Type.  By default, the user type is set to Pro Member.  Filter by selecting a role from the drop-down menu or changing the user type to Community Member.  
  • Group. Only see users belonging to the group selected from the drop-down menu.
  • Search for users. The search box allows you to search the username, Display Name, and Email to filter the user. If you are searching for a domain in the email like @example.com make sure you include @ in your search request. If you just put example.com it will not find the email domain.  

There is a 1,000 display limit for the number of users that can be shown when you load the user management tool. Add filters and leverage search to reduce the users to display, especially when displaying community members.

Deactivate users


You can deactivate a user or multiple users by selecting them in the list and then clicking Deactivate Users:

The Deactivate Users button is only available when active users are selected.  Activate Users is only available when you inactive users are selected.  

Although users can be deactivated, they cannot be deleted to avoid accidentally deleting scripted content those users may have created. For example, a user may have written custom script on the site or may have made a significant change. If this user is deleted, the script is also deleted wherever it lived on the page and cannot be accessible. Deactivating a user is the safest way to ensure that all credentials and content created are maintained.

 

Activate users


To activate users, filter by the Inactive status. 

Select the users you want to activate.

 click Activate:


 

Edit users


  1. To edit a user, click the Edit icon at the end of a user's row:

  1. Change the following in the Edit User screen:
  • Username. The name users use to login to the site. If you have single sign-on (SSO) set up, then this is the username from the identity provider (IdP).
  • Display Name. The display name shown in the MindTouch interface when a user leaves a comment, edits a page or is logged in. If no display name is entered, the username is displayed.
  • Email. The email to which notifications are sent from the system.  
  • Password. The password MUST be a minimum of 8 characters in length and must contain at least 2 of the following characters: lowercase, uppercase, digits or symbols.  
  • Seat Management. The seat management indicates whether the user is a community member (viewer) or pro member (contributor). Pro members are assigned roles to specify the editorial privileges on the site.  
  • Status. Deactivate or activate a user.
  • Authentication. By default, the authentication is set to Local, unless you have LDAP/AD integration.  
  • Add to Groups. Add or remove users from groups by checking/unchecking the groups in the list.

  1. Click Save Changes.
  • Was this article helpful?