Skip to main content

 

MindTouch Success Center

What is the purpose of the Viewer role for pro members?

Written by James Valent
Director of Support at MindTouch
This page applies to:MindTouch (current)

Since community members cannot be boosted to pro member roles at the page level, the Viewer role allows a pro member to have limited editing rights on a site, and then later be boosted to a higher role at the page level as part of a group (recommended method!) as needed. The most common use case for this role would be if you had a user who you would like to create and edit content in a specific section of a site.
 

In this case, you would create them as a pro member with the Viewer role in the control panel. Then, you would assign them to a group with authoring or editing rights and grant access on a page. This way users can edit a specific section, while still only being able to view other public or semi-public pages.

  • Was this article helpful?