Skip to main content
MindTouch Success Center

Display conditional content only to specific users

Use conditional content to restrict content to only certain users. Conditional content can personalize the experience for your users and control access to sensitive information.

By default, MindTouch has three conditional content types accessible via the the editor: Pro Member, Community Member, and Anonymous user. These conditional content types only display text to users that belong to the specified group. You can also create custom conditional text blocks for specific groups.
 

Conditional Content cannot does not display in Contextual Help windows.

Add conditional content to a page

  1. Open a page in Edit mode and place the courser where you want conditional content, or highlight content that you want to be conditional.
  2. From the Editor toolbar, select Style and choose one of the conditional content options:
    • Conditional text (anonymous only)
    • Conditional text (community member only)
    • Conditional text (pro member only)   
  3. The conditional content container appears and is an editable field.Screenshot of the conditional text box for pro members
  4. Click Save.

Change or remove conditional content

Conditional content containers function as a toggle. To change the target user group, highlight the the text and select a different conditional content type from the Style menu. To remove conditional content, highlight the text and re-select the active conditional content type.

How search engines handle conditional content

Search engines (including the MindTouch search engine) can only find content that is publicly available. Content you include as conditional for Community Members or Pro Members, who must log in to see it, will not be visible to search engines.

Examples for conditional content

Use conditional content whenever you need to control who sees what information on a page: 

  • Internal users need access to proprietary information on a page. 
  • Technical notes should only be seen by your support team.
  • Editors need to "hide" information until it is vetted.