Whenever you rename or move pages, MindTouch allows your customers to find the renamed and even moved pages via the URL previously associated with those pages. Redirects happen automatically, unless you manually add a redirect to a page.
When to use redirects
- To ensure a bookmarked URL someone redirects users to a the new URL if a page was moved or renamed.
- To establish URL aliases users may try to visit, e.g.
- To redirect a user to a preferred location. e.g. from
MindTouch automatic redirects
When you move an article or a hierarchy, MindTouch automatically applies 301 (permanent) redirects from the old location to the new one.
A redirect has a source page that redirects to a destination page.
Source ► Destination
In some cases, a series of redirects may be in place. They may have been created by renaming or moving a page many times. For instance, if you move A to B, the redirect source and destination would be as follows:
A ► B
If you then moved B to C and then moved it to D, the redirect source and destination would be as follows:
A ► B ► C ► D
Users visiting either A, B or C would be redirected to D.
A redirect cannot point to its own subpages. For example, If page A had a subpage a, a redirect on page A could not point to a.
Redirect warning messages
You will receive a warning message if you attempt to do the following:
- Rename a live page or draft the same as an existing redirect
- Create a new live page or draft with the same name as an existing redirect
- Move a page to an existing redirect
- Copy a page or subpages to an existing redirect
- Restore a page or a hierarchy to a location that has a redirect
- Import an MTARC
Warning to contact MindTouch Support
There a few ways to potentially break a redirect within MindTouch, which can lead to broken links within your content. If you see the following warning (or a variation thereof), realize that you are being alerted to a broken redirect:
If you see this warning while performing basic operations, we recommend you contact MindTouch Support.