Skip to main content
MindTouch Success Center

Page redirects in MindTouch

When you move content pages in MindTouch, either individual pages or groups of pages, MindTouch automatically applies 301 (permanent) redirects from the old URL to the new one.

MindTouch automatic redirects

By default, renaming a page title will alter the page URL and create a redirect. Redirects happen automatically unless you manually add a redirect to a page.

Redirect rules

  • A redirect associates the original URL to a page ID, which points to the newest destination URL.
  • If a page URL changes one time, the original URL will point to the page ID, which redirects to the newest URL.
  • If a page URL changes multiple times, any of the previous URLs point to the page ID, which redirects to the newest URL.
  • A redirect cannot point to its own subpages. For example, page www.example.com/parent cannot redirect to www.example.com/parent/subpage.
  • If you create a new page with a URL that was redirecting, the new page will load instead of the redirect destination.

Redirect warning message

You will receive a warning message ("One or more redirects will be deleted if you continue") if you attempt the following actions:

  • Rename a live page or draft the same as an existing redirect
  • Create a new live page or draft with the same name as an existing redirect
  • Move a page to an existing redirect
  • Copy a page or subpages to an existing redirect
  • Restore a page or a hierarchy to a location that has a redirect
  • Import an MTARC

If you see this warning while performing basic operations, we recommend you contact MindTouch Support.

  • Was this article helpful?