Skip to main content

Advanced revert logic (TCS)

Overview

This article reviews the advanced logic that is included with the revert operation.

Reverting files

Files within MindTouch are associated with pages for the benefits of permissions, but live independent from pages as far as location. When you link to a file, it links directly to the file via the API. This ensure that if you move a file or rename it, you won't receive broken links within your content. 

 

Since files can be independent of content, this has to be taken into consideration when we revert a page where the location or status of the files has changed. Below you'll find multiple scenarios where this could happen along with how the MindTouch interface will handle this. 

Revert a page that doesn't have the file to a revision that did have it

This situation would occur if you deleted or moved a file from the page and then tried to revert to a revision where that file was originally attached to the page. 

In this situation, MindTouch will record a conflict in the revision history for that page, but it will not restore or move the file back to that page. 

Revert a page that does have the file to a revision that it didn't have it

This situation would occur if the page currently has a file attached to it, but you revert to a revision where the file wasn't attached to the page. 

In this case we will not remove the file, but will note the conflict in the revision history.

Revert a page that does have the file to a revision where the file didn't exist

This situation would occur if the page currently has a file attached to it, but you revert to a revision where the file didn't exist in MindTouch. 

In this case we will not remove the file, but will note the conflict in the revision history.

  • Was this article helpful?