Skip to main content

Restrict access to a page

Written by James Valent
Director of Support at MindTouch
This page applies to:MindTouch Responsive

This article reviews how to control the access for a specific page or group of pages. This includes the availability of the article, and the level of contribution that various users and groups have within that article. This article is most relevant for technical writerssupport agentssubject matter expertscontent managers and site owners.


Content privacy

There are three (3) levels of content privacy in MindTouch:

  • Site privacy – determines if a site is publicly available or requires authentication.
  • User / group roles – controls the level of access and rights a user/group has.
  • Page access – controls the restriction level of a page and who has permissions to interact with that page.

When learning about page level access, it's important to think about privacy from the top down in your MindTouch site. So what really happens when you're setting the privacy for a specific page? Let's revisit the first rule from our site privacy documentation.

  NOTE:  The control panel applies site-wide abilities; page restrictions limit access and abilities on specific pages.

Page access

When you create a page in MindTouch, it will automatically inherit the restrictions of its parent. To later change a page's restrictions, click Options > Restrict access on your MindTouch toolbar. From there you can control both the page's restriction as well as who has access to interact with the page:

Restriction Access details
  • All users can view.
  • All pro members with author role or higher can edit.
  • All users can view. 
  • Only pro members with author role or higher listed in the permission list can edit.
  • Page is hidden from navigation and search results.
  • All users can access the content and file attachments on the page when referenced from other pages.
  • Only users and groups in the permission list can find the page in search results and site navigation.
  • Only users and groups added in the permission list can view the page.
  • Only pro members with author role or higher listed in the permission list can edit.
  • Users without access will receive an error indicating they do not have access.

   If a user clicks the previous/next links and the following page is semi-private, the user will gain access to the semi-private page.

Page permissions

Once you've set the restriction level for a page, you may optionally add in page permissions to allow users different levels of abilities and to add a user or a group and then apply a role. Remember to click Add to list before saving the permission settings.


If you are logged in as an admin user (not the site admin) and want to remove yourself from a page's permission list, you will need to either be logged in as a different admin account or have the site admin remove you from the permission list for that page. Our system has been designed with a fail-safe that will add the user back in the permission list if that user tries to remove him- or herself from the list.