Skip to main content

Understand page redirects

This page applies to:MindTouch Responsive

Whenever you rename or move pages, MindTouch allows your customers to find the renamed and even moved pages via the URL previously associated with those pages. Redirects ensure that while you optimize your site structure and page titles your customers can find the information they need, even if they only have access to the pages "old" URLs. Redirects happen entirely behind the scenes (unless you manually add a redirect) and are an important tool to maintain the health of your Web search presence.

When to use redirects

Use redirects for the following:

  • To ensure a bookmarked URL someone redirects users to a the new URL if a page was moved or renamed.
  • To establish URL aliases users may try to visit, e.g. and
  • To redirect a user to a preferred location. e.g. from to

Redirect rules

A redirect has a source page that redirects to a destination page.  

 Source    ►     Destination

In some cases, a series of redirects may be in place. They may have been created by renaming or moving a page many times. For instance, if you move A to B, the redirect source and destination would be as follows:

 A     ►     B

If you then moved B to C and then moved it to D, the redirect source and destination would be as follows:

 A     ►      B     ►    C     ►    D

Result:  Users visiting either A, B or C would be redirected to D.

Note to user  NOTE:  A redirect cannot point to its own subpages. For example, If page A had a subpage a, a redirect on page  could not point to a

Redirect warning messages

You will receive a warning message if you attempt to do the following:

  • Rename a live page or draft the same as an existing redirect
  • Create a new live page or draft with the same name as an existing redirect
  • Move a page to an existing redirect
  • Copy a page or subpages to an existing redirect
  • Restore a page or a hierarchy to a location that has a redirect
  • Import an MTARC

Getting a warning to contact MindTouch Support?

As you'll find in this article, there a few ways to potentially clobber a redirect within MindTouch, which can lead to broken links within your content. If you're seeing the following warning (or a variation thereof), realize that you're being alerted to a redirect clobber:

If you see this warning while performing basic operations, we recommend reaching out to MindTouch Support to discuss the operation you're trying to perform. Our team will be more than happy to work with you to ensure you can successfully move forward without clobbering any redirects. Don't hesitate to contact us!

Contact MindTouch Support

  • Was this article helpful?