Skip to main content

Reorder the page hierarchy

This page applies to:MindTouch Responsive

As a user you may want to change the order of pages within your MindTouch hierarchy to reflect the way you want information to be presented or because you want to guide your users down a specific learning path. Follow the steps in this article to learn how to modify the order of the pages within the hierarchy.

How are pages ordered?

MindTouch orders pages in the hierarchy alphanumerically based on the path of the page. Alphanumeric ordering means titles that start with a number will appear higher in priority than titles with letters in them. For example, if you have the pages "Zebra," "1 Giraffe" and "Ants on a Log," the order will be as follows:

Since it starts with a number, "1 Giraffe" is listed first, followed by the rest of the pages ordered alphabetically. To ensure users are clicking through the desired order when using the previous/next navigation, change the default order of pages.

Changing the default order of pages

As a pro member in MindTouch, you have the freedom to deviate from default ordering to reorganize pages by changing the path (or URL) of the page while still maintaining the page title. For example, to move the article entitled "Zebra" to the top of the hierarchy, perform the following steps:

  1. Open the "Zebra" page in Edit mode.
  2. Double-click the page title.

  1.  MindTouch displays the URL of the "Zebra" page:


NOTE: By default, the page title and page path are the same upon page creation. Changing the URL does not change the title of the page. To change the title, enter the new title text in the text field above the URL.

  1. Click the blue hyperlink icon.


  1. Change the "Zebra" portion of the URL to "010Zebra" and click Update title.


Tip: Start your page URL numbering at "010" in case you later want to put other documents before your first page. ​
  1. The page's URL is updated and now appears at top of the hierarchy. 

Automatic redirect management

MindTouch automatically manages redirects when you rename a page or change an URL. Users who have bookmarked or otherwise saved an old URL are automatically redirected to the new URL.  

Additional notes

When renaming a page that contains more than 10 sub-pages, we strongly recommend allowing the system approximately 5-10 minutes to fully process before modifying the recently renamed page or any of its sub-pages. While the user interface may report that the single page has been fully renamed, the system may still be processing related sub-pages. Allowing the system this additional processing time will help ensure automatic redirect management is successful while retaining the integrity of your links. In addition, please note that it may take over an hour for the search index to update and reflect the change in path.

  • Was this article helpful?