Skip to main content

Manage page revisions

This page applies to:MindTouch Responsive

For anyone managing content, version control is a top priority. The ability to track why a change was made and by whom and to be able to revert to a previous version is imperative to any documentation process. With MindTouch, accountability of changes in your documentation happens automatically. Along with the ability to restrict editing privileges (see our article on restricting access), MindTouch provides total control over your documentation.

MindTouch understands that having a clear and chronological archive of all changes is instrumental to your productivity when managing content, especially if content is frequently edited or has multiple editors. Revision history not only allows you to see what was revised and who made the revision, but allows you to compare two revisions, and even allows you to immediately revert to another revision if necessary. When reverting to a previous revision, certain information such as changes to page content, page properties, files, and file properties can be reverted. To learn more about what information can and cannot be reverted, read our article on page element revert rules

View, compare and revert to a revision

  1. From the MindTouch toolbar, select Options > Revision history.

   Read this article to find out what happens when attachments are involved before reverting pages.

  1. The revision history page displays when an edit occurred, who made the edit, and a summary of the edit. You have three (3) options based on what you want to do with the revision:
  • To view what a particular revision looked like, select the revision and click the View this revision  icon. 
  • To view the changes that were made during a single session, select the revision and click the Compare with previous revision  icon.
  • To revert to the revision, select the revision and click the Revert to this revision   icon. 

Compare two revisions

  1. Select the revisions (A).
  2. The date and the username of the person who edited the page are conveniently displayed in the top revision banner (B).
  3. Click Compare revisions (C).

  1. Under View comparison, select the view that will help you best distinguish the changes:
  • The Combined view allows you to view the changes that have been made in both revisions in one window (A). 
  • The Side by side view allows you to view the changes that have been made in both revisions separately (B).
  • Both views allows you to view the changes both in one window and side by side. 



  • Was this article helpful?