Skip to main content

What happens to links when I move a page?

This page applies to:MindTouch Responsive

When you move an article or a whole hierarchy, MindTouch will apply automatic redirects from the old location to the new one. This will provide a failsafe way for your users to see the right article. These users may have bookmarked an article, followed an old link from an old email, clicked a search result from a search engine like Google, or may have come across an old link in a handful of other ways.

As you see, these redirects are quite important. The question is, how does Google see these redirects? Google and most search engines will store thousands of properties about your articles and those factors will be taken into consideration when determining your article's rank. When you change the location of your article, MindTouch will tell these search engines that this is a permanent redirect. Permanent redirects ( also known as 301 redirects) will then consign all of the previous location's properties to the new location, along with updating all of the links in their search results. This is an important factor and keeps your pages' rankings in the search results. Ultimately this allows your page to not have to start at the bottom of the Google totem pole regarding ranking, nor will it have to wait for Google to find and index it!

These permanent redirects also prove to be an extremely helpful factor if you ever need to delete the redirect in order to create an article at that old location. By setting the permanent redirect (as opposed to a temporary redirect), you can ensure that your users will not be following any pages that do not exist in third-party search results as those search engines will not update the URL of a temporary redirect.

  • Was this article helpful?