Skip to main content
MindTouch Success Center

Templates in MindTouch

Page templates in MindTouch provide your authors with a consistent way to organize content.  Templates are typically used to create your own personal layout for content such as FAQs, troubleshooting articles, API documentation, product guides and more.  

A template must be selected to create a new page or article. When you use a template, the structure is copied onto the page and future changes to the Template will not apply to your page. 

Who can create new Templates?

Templates can only be created by Pro Members, which includes Authors, Editors, and Administrators.

Why did the template changes that I made get overwritten?

At MindTouch we use templates for most of the dynamic layouts that you interact with.  This includes things like Search Results, Reports and more.  As such, we maintain and update them on a regular basis.  In fact, the "MindTouch Templates" are updated every Thursday.  

Essentially, If you make changes to any of the Templates in the /Template:MindTouch hierarchy they will ultimately be overwritten on a weekly basis.  Please note, any changes that you make to MindTouch Templates are not supported and may break your site.  We highly advise that you do not make changes to MindTouch Templates. 

Add templates to the "New Page" dialog

The "New Page" Gallery can be accessed by clicking New Page while logged in as an Author, Editor and Administrator.  You can add templates to the New Page gallery by using the following instructions:

  1. Go to Tools > Templates
  2. Locate your existing template
  3. Click on the Edit Details link next to your template
  4. Select New Page in the options at the bottom of the popup dialog
  5. Click Update Template Properties
  6. Wait up to 60 seconds for template to show in New Page gallery

Default, New Page and Content Template types

When you edit the details of your template you can select one of the following templates: Default, New Page or Content.   The selection you make controls how the Templates will be made available to your Authors.  

  • Default - Default templates are displayed in the editor through the Insert Template option.
  • New Page - New Page templates will show in the New Page Dialog so that you can create a new page based on the template.
  • Content - Content templates are referenced by other templates for inclusion, but aren't surfaced in the Insert Template dialog or the New Page dialog. These are useful when you want to reference a certain component in multiple templates.  Content templates are typically used for more advanced use cases. 

Make sure collaborators can see templates but not modify them

In some situations you may be required to elevate the role of your users to Pro-Member to allow them to collaborate and contribute.  If you change the role of the individual or group to Pro-Member > Author, the users will also be able to access and modify the templates that you have created.  

To bypass this concern and make sure that your new collaborators don't alter your templates, you can set new collaborators default permissions to viewer and then explicitly grant them Author or Editor access to collaborative content. Use the following steps to apply:

  1. Go to Control Panel > Users.
  2. Find the Community Members that you would like to collaborate.
  3. Click on the Edit link in the User row.
    Tip:  You can batch edit user roles.  Simply select multiple checkboxes on the left of the users that you want to edit and then click Change Roles.
  4. Change the Seat Management of the user to Pro Member > Viewer.
  5. Click Save Changes.
  6. Go to the Category or Guide that you want users to collaborate in, then select More > Restrict Access.
    ​Tip: You can apply permissions to either a single page or All Subpages.  If you have the opportunity to apply permissions higher in the hierarchy, you will need to apply fewer permissions and it will make your permissions easier to manage. 
  7. Add the user(s) or group(s) with the role of Author.
  8. If applicable, select Apply permission settings to all subpages
  9. Click Save Permission Settings.
  • Was this article helpful?