Skip to main content
MindTouch Success Center

Create a user group

Groups are a necessary component to allow team contributions to public-facing content and to restrict access to internal-only pages. This article outlines the steps for creating user groups in MindTouch.

If you are using SAML single sign-on (SSO) authentication, you must first create groups via your identification provider (IdP) and then create the same groups in MindTouch as outlined in this article. Your MindTouch groups MUST be named exactly as they appear in your IdP.

Why create user groups?

Create groups to control access to your pages and to minimize user management:

  • Set up teams of collaborators and contributors and assign specific levels of access.
  • Keep proprietary or sensitive information from users who don't need visibility or access.
  • Avoid time-consuming user management. (Groups allow administrators to apply user changes globally via the control panel instead of having to make changes to individual pages.) 

Applying roles to a group may affect an existing user's role. Consider user types and Pro Member roles.

How to create user groups in MindTouch

  1. On the MindTouch toolbar, select Site tools > Control panel.
  2. In the control panel, under Users & Groups, select Groups.
  3. Click Add Groups.
  4. In the Groups dialog, enter your group names.
    Ampersands (&) in group names are currently NOT supported.
    Give your groups easily identifiable names such as "Employees" (for general access), "Editors" (for specific user access) or "Compliance" (for specific departmental access).
    Although you can assign any role you want to groups, we strongly recommend assigning groups the Viewer role since higher roles can always be assigned on specific pages or sections later. 
  5. Assign the Role of Viewer (recommended) to your groups.  
  6. Click Add Groups.
  7. Choose the group Authentication.
  8. Click Add Groups.

For users who are part of a group, the highest assigned global role in the control panel is in effect across the entire site. Also, page permissions may affect global roles.

Although community members can be added to groups, the role of a group only applies to pro members in that group. Community members cannot contribute—even if a part of a contributing group.

  • Was this article helpful?